Holiday Invitational

Word of God keeps Holiday Invitational title in Raleigh

Posted December 30, 2012

— For the first time since 2007 -- its first appearance in the tournament -- Word of God has a Holiday Invitational championship trophy.

The Holy Rams used an MVP performance from Tyrek Coger to battle past New Hampton, N.H., 58-53, in the Shavlik Randolph Foundation championship game in the final HSOT game of the 2012 tourney.

WOG coach Quinton Jackson said this championship -- after two straight years of not getting out of the first round -- was special.

"We're proud to represent Word of God and all those who have come before us who have won it, those who have come close and those who have not made it out of the first round," Jackson said. "We're excited about the win and it's good to keep it local."

Coger was joined on the all-tournament team by Holy Rams teammates Josh Newkirk and Jordan Whitfield. Newkirk scored 11 points and finished with 9 assists on Saturday, while Whitfield -- an eighth-grader -- had 8 points.

New Hampton was led by Lincoln Davis' 13 points and all-tournament selection Travis Jorgenson's 10 points on Saturday. Indiana recruit Noah Vonleh finished with 7 points and was also named to the all-tourney team.

"Word of God played very well and had a great game plan in terms of keeping us at bay and not allowing us to get into a rhythm," New Hampton coach Pete Hutchins said.

The Most Outstanding Player of the Randolph bracket was UNC recruit Isaiah Hicks of Oxford Webb; other all-tournament players included T.J. Evans of Apex, Isaac Copeland of Charlottesville, Va., Miller School, Mike Kobani of High Point Christian and Mitron Terry of Webb.

End 1Q: WOG 10, New Hampton 8
Halftime: WOG 31, New Hampton 22; WOG led by 9 points from Tyrek Coger and 8 points from Jordan Whitfield; NH paced by 8 points from Lincoln Davis
End 3Q: WOG 47, New Hampton 39
Final: WOG 58, New Hampton 53

Word of God 10 21 16 11 -- 58
New Hampton 8 14 17 14 -- 53
WOG: Tyrek Coger 17, Josh Newkirk 11, Jordan Whitfield 8, Donte Reynolds 7, Rodney Moore 7, Camden Scott 6, Lamar Nobles 2.
New Hampton: Lincoln Davis 13, Travis Jorgenson 10, Mike LeBlanc 8, Noah Vonleh 7, Mike Auger 5, Tory Miller 4, Cole McConnell 3, Dustin Triano 3.


Please with your account to comment on this story. You also will need a Facebook account to comment.

Oldest First
View all