High School Sports

Thomas, Boykin named HSOT Honors Athletes of the Year

Posted June 30

Thayer Thomas (1) of Heritage. Heritage dominated Millbrook 67-43 in a match-up of two Cap 8 teams in the John Wall Family Foundation Holiday Invitational semifinals on Wednesday, Dec. 28, 2016. (Photo By: Nick Stevens/HighSchoolOT.com)

Winners in the inaugural HighSchoolOT Honors were announced on Friday afternoon, ending a weeks long process in which HighSchoolOT.com visitors were able to nominate and vote in several different categories.

The biggest categories were for male and female Athlete of the Year.

Heritage High School three-sport athlete Thayer Thomas was named the Male Athlete of the Year. Thomas was an important player on the Heritage football, basketball and baseball teams. Each of the teams made deep runs in the N.C. HIgh School Athletic Association state playoffs.

Mikayla Boykin, a girls basketball standout at Clinton High School, was named the Female Athlete of the Year after leading the Dark Horses to the state championship in March. Boykin, who will play college basketball at Duke, broke multiple state records during her senior season, including the scoring record.

Coach of the Year was another big category.

Wake Forest High School football coach Reggie Lucas was voted the Male Coach of the Year after leading the Cougars to a shutout win in the 4-AA state championship game. It was the first football state championship for Wake Forest and the first in Wake County since Garner won in 1987.

Shelly Reathaford was named the Female Coach of the Year. The Leesville Road High School cheerleading coach led her team to a state championship for the fourth time last fall, and also won the school's first Carolina Cup, awarded to the highest-performing varsity team at the NCHSAA state championship competition. Leesville Road also placed 13th at the National High School Cheerleading Championships in Orlando.

Here is the complete list of winners:

Spirit Category

Best Mascot: Cary Imps
Cheerleading Team of the Year: Leesville Road High School
Marching Band of the Year: Green Hope High School
Best Social Media: Millbrook High School
Best Uniform: Garner High School, Softball


Play of the Year: Jamal Elliot 99-yard kick return to beat Cardinal Gibbons with no time left
Game of the Year: Middle Creek vs. Wake Forest, football
Upset of the Year: Leesville Road defeats South Central in boys basketball regional final
Story of the Year: Millbrook student with special needs scores in basketball game
Best Championship Performance: Middle Creek boys lacrosse undefeated season

Players & Coaches

Extra Effort Athlete of the Year, Male: Zach Gemmell, Heritage High School
Extra Effort Athlete of the Year, Female: Kai Crutchfield, Millbrook High School
Courage Award: Brian Foster, Southern Nash High School
Coach of the Year, Male: Reggie Lucas, Wake Forest High School
Coach of the Year, Female: Shelly Reathaford, Leesville Road High School
Athlete of the Year, Male: Thayer Thomas, Heritage High School
Athlete of the Year, Female: Mikayla Boykin, Clinton High School


Please with your WRAL.com account to comment on this story. You also will need a Facebook account to comment.

Oldest First
View all