Boys Basketball

Several local basketball players named to East-West All-Star Game

Posted May 13

Alex Hunter (3) of Leesville Road.  4A Boys Basketball State Championship at NCSU Reynolds Coliseum with Leesville Road vs. Southwest Guilford on March 11, 2017.  The Cowboys of Southwest Guilford dominated the game and defeated Leesville Road 73 to 49.

Photo by Suzie Wolf

— The N.C. Coaches Association released the rosters for the 2017 East-West All-Star Basketball Games on Saturday, and the rosters include a number of local players.

Three boys from Wake County are on the roster – Eric Fox (Apex), Alex Hunter (Leesville Road) and Alex Reed (Garner). Other local boys selected to the roster include Connor Crabtree (Orange), Jaquan Miles (Northampton), Devonte Pettaway (North Pitt), Jeremiah Pope (Clinton) and Samson Strickland (Fike).

Zach Hobbs (Northside) and Tyrell Kirk (Whiteville) are also on the East boys basketball team.

Hoggard coach Brett Queen will be the head coach of the East boys teams. He will be assisted by South Central's Chris Cherry.

The West boys team includes Mason Hawks (North Surry), Quay Kimble (Shelby), Kameron Langley (Southwest Guilford), Austin Nelson (North Henderson), Carter Phillips (North Surry), Cameron Robinson (Mt. Tabor), Ryan Schwieger (Weddington), Jalen Spicer (Northwest Guilford), Bryant Thomas (South Mecklenburg) and Zaire Williams (Winston-Salem Prep).

North Forsyth coach Sean Vestal will coach the West team and will be assisted by Brian Franklin of McDowell.

Several girls basketball players have been selected to the all-star roster as well.

Talia Barnes (Jordan), Kai Crutchfield (Millbrook), Rayvin Griffin (E.E. Smith), Elisia Grissett (Hillside), Asia Henderson (South View), Kayla Jones (Riverside-Martin), Jonisha McCoy (East Duplin), Dazia Powell (Millbrook), Jaylin Powell (Rolesville) and Nyona Shields (Union Pines) were all selected to the East roster.

Jack Britt's Nattlie McArthur and Clinton's Chris Owen will coach the East girls basketball team.

The West girls basketball selections include Chrisalyn Boston (R.J. Reynolds), Abby Cook (Alexander Central), Kyra Davis (R-S Central), Kristian Eanes (Northwood), Mahaley Holit (Central Cabarrus), J'nai Millner (Morehead), Lashonda Monk (Southwest Guilford), Madelyn Webb (Pisgah), Ariyana Williams (Freedom) and Tierra Wilson (R.J. Reynolds).

Northern Guilford coach Kim Furlough is the head coach of the West girls basketball team. Furlough will be assisted by Brandon Holloway of Pisgah.

The East-West All-Star Basketball Games will be played on July 17 at the Greensboro Coliseum. The girls game will begin at 6 p.m., followed by the boys game at approximately 8 p.m.


Please with your account to comment on this story. You also will need a Facebook account to comment.

Oldest First
View all