Nick Stevens

Projecting the 4-A East boys basketball playoffs

Posted January 19, 2013
Updated January 21, 2013

Using the conference standings on, we are able to project the N.C. High School Athletic Association state playoffs as if the playoffs began today.

The playoffs will be done differently this season.

Each conference has been assigned to a division. The East Division is made up of the Greater Neuse River, Mideastern, Mid-South, the top two teams in the Southeastern, and a wildcard. The Mideast Division is made up of the Cap 8, the PAC 6, the Tri-9, and the third and fourth teams in the Southeastern.

To determine the automatic bids from each conference, divide the number of teams in the conference in half and add one. For example, the Tri-9 will get five teams into the state playoffs while the PAC 6 will get four.

In each division, the teams are seeded 1-16 based on their overall winning percentage. All No. 1 teams are seeded first, followed by the No. 2 teams, the No. 3 teams, and so on.

One wildcard team will make the playoffs in the east. The wildcard spot is determined by the overall winning percentage of the teams who do not make the state playoffs.

In the current projection, East Chapel Hill receives the wildcard bid. It also assumes Clayton is the Greater Neuse River Conference champion, even though they are technically tied with Garner. The two teams will play each other twice next week.

Discuss the projections in our Boys Basketball Forum!

Note: The accuracy of these projections depends on our conference standings being accurate. Please report any score corrections to

4-A Boys Mideast:

1. Jordan
16. Panther Creek (6-7)

8. Richmond County (12-4)
9. Leesville Road (10-5)

5. Hillside (12-4)
12. Lee County (9-8)

4. Broughton (13-3)
13. Wakefield (7-7)

6. Apex (9-7)
11. Northern Durham (9-5)

3. Millbrook (10-6)
14. Purnell Swett (3-11)

7. Green Hope (12-3)
10. Person (8-7)

2. Middle Creek (12-5)
15. Enloe (8-7)

4-A Boys East:

1. Clayton/Seventy-First (15-1)
16. East Chapel Hill (9-7)

8. Hoggard (8-5)
9. Southeast Raleigh (9-6)

5. South View (14-2)
12. Knightdale (10-6)

4. Ashley (12-3)
13. Terry Sanford/Laney (7-7)

6. Garner (11-2)
11. New Hanover (7-6)

3. Hoke County (13-2)
14. Terry Sanford/Laney (7-7)

7. Pinecrest (10-3)
10. Pine Forest (10-7)

2. Clayton/Seventy-First (15-1)
15. East Wake (5-11)


Please with your account to comment on this story. You also will need a Facebook account to comment.

Oldest First
View all