Boys Basketball

Hicks named NCBCA Player of the Year

Posted April 2, 2013

J.F. Webb's Isaiah Hicks was named the N.C. Basketball Coaches Association's Player of the Year on Tuesday.

Hicks, a University of North Carolina recruit, helped the Warriors to the 3-A state championship, posting 34 points, 30 rebounds and seven blocked shots in the title game.

Webb defeated Statesville in overtime to win the title.

Olympic coach Ty Baumgardner was named the Coach of the Year. Baumgardner helped the Trojans to a three-point win over Broughton in the 4-A state championship.

Here is the full NCBCA All-State Team:

1st Team:

Isaiah Hicks, J.F. Webb
Gary Clark, Clayton
B.J. Gladden, Olympic
Devonte Graham, Broughton
Shelton Mitchell, Cuthbertson

2nd Team:

Ria'n Holland, South View
Terrell Leach, Southwest Guilford
Caleb Martin, Davie County
Tyrone Outlaw, Person
Tarique Thompson, Hoke County

3rd Team:

Dante Battle, Rocky Mount
Clayton Byrd, East Burke
Josh Cuthbertson, West Craven
Gabe DeVoe, Shelby
Cody Martin, Davie County


Please with your account to comment on this story. You also will need a Facebook account to comment.

Oldest First
View all