High School Sports

Gray's Creek, Byrd lead Cape Fear Valley awards

Posted November 28, 2012

Gray's Creek and Douglas Byrd swept the Player of the Year awards as the all-conference team was announced for the Cape Fear Valley 3-A Conference.

Douglas Byrd's Garry Lewis was named the Athlete of the Year, while Tijuan Shackleford was named the Defensive Player of the Year.

Ken McDowell of Gray's Creek was named the Offensive Player of the Year. Gray's Creek head coach David Lovette was named the Coach of the Year.

Here is the full all-conference team:

1st Team Offense

QB - Danny Karrs, Overhills

RB - Breon Davis, Douglas Byrd
RB - Arron Blockman, Southern Lee
RB - Joe Wallace, Gray's Creek

WR - Kendall Lindsey, Westover
WR - Kyleo Rogers, Overhills
WR - Jose Sanchez, Douglas Byrd

TE - Garrett Jayne, Gray's Creek

OL - Pat Roane, Gray's Creek
OL - Ceron Franciscon, Douglas Byrd
OL - Cody Jacks, Overhills
OL - Justin Stenimetz, Western Harnett
OL - Kevin Hart, Gray's Creek

K - Taylor Sawicki, Gray's Creek

1st Team Defense

DL - Cherrod Williams, Westover
DL - Elijah Buxton, Gray's Creek
DL - Johnte' White, Westover
DL - Adonis Hassell, Overhills

LB - Kevin McCoy, Douglas Byrd
LB - Nick Anta, Gray's Creek
LB - Spencer Shadomy, Union Pines
LB - Connor Gaines, Southern Lee

DB - Jeff Gibson, Gray's Creek
DB - Kalynn McMillan, Douglas Byrd
DB - Keatre Evans, Westover
DB - Darius Alston, Western Harnett

P - Brandon Welborn, Southern Lee

2nd Team Offense

QB - Henry Howard, Westover

RB - Marquis Hall, Westover
RB - Laron Gilchrist, Western Harnett
RB - Lawrence Bullock, Overhills

WR - Donny Alexander, Overhills
WR - Alonzo Hurtado, Douglas Byrd
WR - C.J. Hobbs, Western Harnett

OL - J.P. Roseman, Southern Lee
OL - Doug Jackson, Overhills
OL - Jarron Harrington, Douglas Byrd
OL - James Hall, Western Harnett
OL - Grayson Johnson, Union Pines

TE - Braxton Crosby, Western Harnett

K - Freddy McCollum, Southern Lee

2nd Team Defense

DL - Robert Johnson, Overhills
DL - Byron Cousin, Douglas Byrd
DL - Jame Cummings, Gray's Creek
DL - Willie McDonald, Douglas Byrd

LB - Matt Miller, Overhills
LB - Montez Samuels, Douglas Byrd
LB - Antonio Hernandez, Western Harnett
LB - Nute Thompson, Western Harnett

DB - Marquel King, Overhills
DB - Zach Vozzelli, Overhills
DB - Elijah Bulger, Douglas Byrd
DB - Phillip Hall, Union Pines

P - Kaylan Smith, Western Harnett


Please with your WRAL.com account to comment on this story. You also will need a Facebook account to comment.

Oldest First
View all