High School Sports

Fieulleteau receives most votes on AP NC All-State team

Posted December 17, 2012

— Matthews Butler followed its latest state championship with another four-player showing on The Associated Press all-state prep football team for North Carolina for 2012 announced Monday

Receiver Uriah LeMay, linebackers Peter Kalambayi and Sean Wiggins, and defensive back Channing Stribling represented the Class 4-AA champions on the 28-player squad. It marked the second time in four seasons that Butler had four players on the AP team.

The Butler quartet helped the Bulldogs go 15-0 and win a third North Carolina High School Athletic Association championship in four seasons. Butler closed the year with a 56-28 win against Fayetteville Britt in the 4-AA final.

Kalambayi was one of two players to make the AP team for the second straight season, joining Charlotte Vance linebacker Larenz Bryant.

Three other schools had a pair of all-state picks. Davidson Day had quarterback Will Grier and offensive lineman Schuyler Coleman. Charlotte Mallard Creek had receiver Marquez North and tight end Jaylen Samuels. Richmond County had offensive lineman Tyrone Crowder and defensive lineman Devant'e Covington.

Raleigh Wakefield receiver Jordan Fieulleteau, a North Carolina recruit, received 16 of a possible 17 votes from sports writers across the state to lead the team. Northern Guilford running back T.J. Logan, another UNC recruit who led his team to a third straight state title, and Tarboro defensive lineman and Ohio State recruit Tyquan Lewis each had 15 votes.

Charlotte Catholic running back Elijah Hood joined Grier and Logan in the backfield. Also on the offensive line with Crowder and Coleman were Albemarle's Roger Prince Jr., Davie County's Trip McNeil and East Forsyth's Brandon Smith.

On defense, Wilson Hunt's Lewis Neal and Hope Mills South View's Greg Gilmore joined Lewis and Covington on the line.

Belmont South Point's Daishon Davis was the fourth linebacker chosen for the team. Davis and Wiggins each tied with five votes for the last spot at the position.

In the secondary, Durham Hillside's Korrin Wiggins, Charlotte Independence's Jack Tocho and Monroe's Jermany Hammonds joined Butler's Stribling.

On special teams, North Davidson's Spencer Landfried made the team at kicker while Indian Trail Porter Ridge's Matt Wogan was voted in at punter.

Swansboro's DeAndre Thompkins was selected as kick returner, while Swain County's Matthew Maennle rounded out the team at athlete.

All-State team

The voting breakdown for the 2012 Associated Press all-state prep football team for North Carolina, as cast by a 17 statewide media members in voting results released Monday. Number of votes are in parentheses.


QB_Will Grier, Davidson Day (6)

RB_T.J. Logan, Northern Guilford (15)

RB_Elijah Hood, Charlotte Catholic (10)

WR_Jordan Fieulleteau, Raleigh Wakefield (16)

WR_Uriah LeMay, Matthews Butler (11)

WR_Marquez North, Charlotte Mallard Creek (9)

TE_Jaylen Samuels, Charlotte Mallard Creek (9)

OL_Tyrone Crowder, Richmond County (13)

OL_Roger Prince Jr., Albemarle (13)

OL_Schuyler Coleman, Davidson Day (9)

OL_Trip McNeil, Davie County (7)

OL_Brandon Smith, East Forsyth (6)



DL_Tyquan Lewis, Tarboro (15)

DL_Lewis Neal, Wilson Hunt (11)

DL_Greg Gilmore, Hope Mills South View (8)

DL_Devant'e Covington, Richmond County (6)

LB_Peter Kalambayi, Matthews Butler (13)

LB_Larenz Bryant, Charlotte Vance (9)

LB_Daishon Davis, Belmont South Point (5)

LB_Sean Wiggins, Matthews Butler (5)

DB_Channing Stribling, Matthews Butler (10)

DB_Korrin Wiggins, Durham Hillside (9)

DB_Jack Tocho, Charlotte Independence (8)

DB_Jermany Hammonds, Monroe (7)



PK_Spencer Landfried, North Davidson (8)

P_Matt Wogan, Indian Trail Porter Ridge (14)

KR_DeAndre Thompkins, Swansboro (6)

ATH_Matthew Maennle, Swain County (6)


Please with your WRAL.com account to comment on this story. You also will need a Facebook account to comment.

Oldest First
View all