Holiday Invitational

DeSoto team with Duke recruit claims title at Holiday Invitational

Posted December 30, 2012

— It'll be a few months before DeSoto, Texas, senior guard Matt Jones enrolls at Duke, but he's already made himself at home.

Jones and his Eagles teammates rolled into their first Holiday Invitational this week and walked away with the championship of the Summit Hospitality bracket after defeating Metuchen, N.J. St. Joseph, 45-42, Saturday night.

Jones was named the Summit MVP after leading DeSoto to victories over Kinston, Hampton, Va., and St. Joseph.

"This has probably been the toughest three days we've had, in terms of competition," DeSoto coach Chris Dyer said. "This is a hellacious tournament and my hat's off to the organizers. ... All three teams make me feel like I've been through a marathon; I'm tired."

In Saturday's game, Terry Maston was the only Eagle to finish in double-figures scoring with 14 points. Jones added 9 points for DeSoto (19-1).

"This win means a lot," Jones said. "To be in North Carolina and to now have these bragging rights ... I'm definitely proud of my team and coaches, who put us in a great position to win."

St. Joseph was led by 7-foot Kentucky recruit and Summit Most Outstanding Player Karl Towns, who had 13 points and 8 rebounds. All-tourney selection James Ziemba and Marques Townes added 10 points apiece for the Falcons (4-2).

"It's a disappointing loss tonight," St. Joseph coach Dave Turco. "I don't think we played a full 32 minutes. Give credit to DeSoto, though; they made plays and executed when they had to."

Jones, Ziemba and Towns were joined on the all-tournament team by Tyrone Outlaw of Person County, Denzel Keyes of Kinston, Shelton Mitchell of Waxhaw Cuthbertson, Anthony Doyle of Holly Springs, Devonte' Graham of Raleigh Broughton, Anthony Barber of Hampton, Va., and Devin Wyatt of DeSoto.

End first quarter: DeSoto 9, St. Joseph 5
Halftime: DeSoto 21, St. Joseph 16; DeSoto led by Devin Wyatt's 5 points and 4 each from Duke recruit Matt Jones, Takedrick Brown and Terry Maston; St. Joseph led by James Ziemba's 6 points
End 3Q: DeSoto 31, St. Joseph 30

Final: DeSoto 45, St. Joseph 42
DeSoto 9 12 10 14 -- 45
St. Joseph 5 11 14 12 -- 42
DeSoto: Terry Maston 14, Matthew Jones 9, Devin Wyatt 7, Takedrick Brown 6, Tavares Royal 5, Julian Green 4.
St. Joseph: Karl Towns 13, James Ziemba 10, Marques Townes 10, Wade Baldwin IV 6, Michael Brunson 3.


Please with your account to comment on this story. You also will need a Facebook account to comment.

Oldest First
View all