High School Sports

Purvis, Gaffney lead AP all-state teams

Posted March 29, 2012

New Hanover County's Kadeem Allen, Raleigh Upper Room's Rodney Purvis and Morrisville Green Hope's Kristen Gaffney headline the 2011-12 Associated Press all-state prep basketball teams for North Carolina.

NCHSAA Boys Eastern Regional - Millbrook v New Hanover, March 1, Our lens on 2012 AP All-State selections

Allen and Purvis each earned 20 of a possible 22 votes from sports writers across the state to lead the 13-player men's squad in results released Thursday. Gaffney earned 21 votes to lead the 13-player women's squad.


Allen, a 6-foot-3 senior who is undecided on a college choice, averaged about 19 points and 10 rebounds while earning MVP honors as his school won the Class 4-A title.

Purvis, a 6-4 guard, is a McDonald's All-American and part of a heralded recruiting class for North Carolina State. He averaged about 26 points and eight assists this season, and scored a school-record 53 points in his final regular-season game.

Gaffney, a 6-foot forward who has signed with Vanderbilt, averaged about 28 points. She made AP all-state team for a third straight season.

In addition, Charlotte Providence Day senior Tiffany Mitchell joined Gaffney as a three-time all-state performer. Three other players — West Craven sophomore Jamie Cherry, Franklin senior Lindsay Simpson and Southwest Guilford senior Zena Lovette — made the women's team for the second straight season.

Rounding out the women's team were: Catawba Bandys sophomore Madi Story, Salisbury sophomore Brielle Blaire, Charlotte Kennedy Charter junior Rajsha Blackmon, Raleigh Millbrook junior Briana Day, Rocky Mount junior J'Kyra Brown, Raleigh Enloe senior Dana Brown, Hope Mills South View senior Sidney Cook and Greensboro Page sophomore Paris Kea.

Dana Brown, Cook, Lovette and Kea tied for the final spots on the women's team with 10 votes each.

On the men's side, West Charlotte junior Kennedy Meeks and Charlotte United Faith senior Braxton Ogbueze made the AP all-state team for the second straight season.

Rounding out the men's team were: Chapel Hill senior Denzel Ingram, Charlotte Olympic junior Allerik Freeman, Winston-Salem Prep junior Greg McClinton, West Craven junior Josh Cuthbertson, Oxford Webb junior Isaiah Hicks, Roxboro Person junior Tyrone Outlaw Jr., Graham senior Justin Cousin, Davie County senior Nate Jones and Raleigh Ravenscroft junior Anton Gill.

Cousin, Jones and Gill tied for the final men's spot with eight votes each.

West Craven was the only school with multiple selections with Cuthbertson on the men's side and Cherry on the women's team.

The AP prep basketball coaches of the year for North Carolina will be released Friday. The players of the year will be released Saturday.


Please with your WRAL.com account to comment on this story. You also will need a Facebook account to comment.

Oldest First
View all
  • Toddler10-21 Mar 29, 2012

    Thats true. Would love to see kids grow up and play for there high schools!

  • RD28327 Mar 29, 2012

    It's New Hanover High School, NOT New Hanover County High school. Also, too many private school kids on this team. Some of these schools would not exist if it weren't for basketball.