Nick Stevens

Broughton, 71st get No. 1 seeds in latest 4-A boys projections

Posted February 2, 2013

Using the conference standings on, we are able to project the N.C. High School Athletic Association state playoffs as if the playoffs began today.

The playoffs will be done differently this season.

Each conference has been assigned to a division. The East Division is made up of the Greater Neuse River, Mideastern, Mid-South, the top two teams in the Southeastern, and a wildcard. The Mideast Division is made up of the Cap 8, the PAC 6, the Tri-9, and the third and fourth teams in the Southeastern.

To determine the automatic bids from each conference, divide the number of teams in the conference in half and add one. For example, the Tri-9 will get five teams into the state playoffs while the PAC 6 will get four.

In each division, the teams are seeded 1-16 based on their overall winning percentage. All No. 1 teams are seeded first, followed by the No. 2 teams, the No. 3 teams, and so on.

One wildcard team will make the playoffs in the east. The wildcard spot is determined by the overall winning percentage of the teams who do not make the state playoffs.

In the current projection, Holly Springs receives the wildcard bid.

Discuss the projections in our Boys Basketball Forum!

Note: The accuracy of these projections depends on our conference standings being accurate. Please report any score corrections to

4-A Boys Mideast

1. Broughton (17-3)
16. Panther Creek/Wakefield (8-10)

8. Hillside (13-5)
9. Leesville Road (12-6)

5. Apex (13-8)
12. Enloe/Northern Durham (10-8)

4. Millbrook (13-7)
13. Lee County (10-10)

6. Person (13-8)
11. Enloe/Northern Durham (10-8)

3. Middle Creek (15-5)
14. Scotland County (2-11)

7. Green Hope (15-5)
10. Pinecrest (11-6)

2. Jordan (16-4)
15. Panther Creek/Wakefield (8-10)

4-A Boys East

1. Seventy-First (19-1)
16. Holly Springs (10-9)

8. Ashley (13-5)
9. Pine Forest (13-8)

5. Clayton (17-2)
12. Knightdale (12-7)

4. Hoggard (12-6)
13. E.E. Smith (8-9)

6. South View (17-3)
11. New Hanover (10-8)

3. Garner (15-2)
14. J.H. Rose (7-11)

7. Richmond County (14-5)
10. Southeast Raleigh (10-7)

2. Hoke County (17-2)
15. East Wake (6-13)


Please with your account to comment on this story. You also will need a Facebook account to comment.

Oldest First
View all