High School Sports

Athens Drive, Middle Creek lead Tri-9 Player of the Year awards

Posted November 10, 2012

Athens Drive and Middle Creek led the Tri-9 Player of the Year awards in football.

The all-conference teams were released for the Tri-9 Conference on Saturday after all Tri-9 teams were knocked out of the playoffs on Friday night.

Each year, coaches of each team in the conference vote to select the all-conference teams and player of the year honors.

Middle Creek quarterback David Salmon was named the Offensive Player of the Year, while the Mustangs head coach Mike Castellano was named the Coach of the Year. Castellano helped Middle Creek to the conference championship and the No. 2 seed in the state playoffs in his first season at the school.

Athens Drive senior Dan Riddle was named the Defensive Player of the Year, while his teammate and fellow senior Tommy Evanoff was named the Special Teams Player of the Year.

Here are the all-conference teams:

1st Team Offense

Offensive Line

Mike Sutton (Sr, Panther Creek)
Josh Ricci (Sr, Fuquay-Varina)
Ryan Dowell (Sr, Middle Creek)
Brian Stryffler (Sr, Lee County)
Danny Tolbert (Sr, Holly Springs)

Running Back

Dominique Lynch (Jr, Athens Drive)
Devone Johnson (Sr, Middle Creek)
Marquise Sherrod-Ponds (Sr, Cary)

Wide Receiver

Curtis Burston (Sr, Middle Creek)
Quinton Ray (Sr, Middle Creek)
T.J. Lett (Sr, Lee County)

Quarter Back

David Salmon (Sr, Middle Creek)

2nd Team Offense

Offensive Line

Blake Aaron (Sr, Middle Creek)
Curtis Hill (Jr, Athens Drive)
Jack Saliani (Jr, Cary)
Elijah West (Sr, Lee County)
Chad Mason (Sr, Green Hope)

Running Back

Quincey Mangum (Jr, Fuquay-Varina)
David Mayaka (Sr, Panther Creek)
Naylan Lopez (Sr, Middle Creek)

Wide Receiver

Evan Allen (Sr, Holly Springs)
Dorrell McClain (Jr, Panther Creek)
Gavin Locklear (Sr, Apex)


Chase Arrington (Sr, Lee County)

1st Team Defense

Defensive Line

Daniel Nash (Sr, Holly Springs)
Adam Parent (Sr, Green Hope)
Tyler Hinton (Jr, Fuquay-Varina)
J.T. Wise (Jr, Panther Creek)


Dan Riddle (Sr, Athens Drive)
Keyshawn McDougald (Sr, Lee County)
P.J. Morrisette (Sr, Green Hope)
Warren Messer (So, Cary)

Defensive Back

Garrett Suggs (Sr, Fuquay-Varina)
Terrance White (Jr, Middle Creek)
Landon Walton (Sr, Cary)
Kyle Flood (Sr, Lee County)

2nd Team Defense

Defensive Line

Aaron Plynaar (Sr, Cary)
Harris Ray (Sr, Lee County)
Drew McBeth (Jr, Middle Creek)
Thomas Ferguson (Jr, Lee County)


King Kiaku (Jr, Middle Creek)
Matt Powell (Jr, Panther Creek)
Terry Whitehead (Sr, Green Hope)
Montravius Montgomery (Sr, Holly Springs)

Defensive Back

Ridge Ford (Fr, Green Hope)
James Foushee (Sr, Lee County)
Jacob Pearl (Jr, Middle Creek)
Steven Parrish (Sr, Athens Drive)

1st Team Special Teams


Phillip Thomas (Sr, Cary)


Tommy Evanoff (Sr, Athens Drive)

2nd Team Special Teams


Anthony Lawson (Sr, Green Hope)


Ben Grossfuss (Sr, Lee County)

1 Comment

Please with your WRAL.com account to comment on this story. You also will need a Facebook account to comment.

Oldest First
View all
  • unbiasedaccfan Nov 12, 2012

    Congrats to the athletes named to these teams. I had the opportunity to see every Tri-9 team this year and I think the selections are good. Salmon was the best QB in the league and deserves the honor. Congrats to Kyle Flood of Lee County for making 1st team defense - one tough dude at 5'6" and 140.