High School Sports

Area players selected to Shrine Bowl roster

Posted October 10, 2012

13 players from the HighSchoolOT.com coverage area were selected to the Shrine Bowl of the Carolinas.

Extra Effort: DeQuavais Mann (Aug. 30, 2012) Our lens on area Shrine Bowl selections

Area players include Khris Francis (Hillside), Malik Diggs (Scotland County), Dequavais Mann (Northern Nash), Korrin Wiggins (Hillside), Tim Thorb (Garner), Garry Lewis (Douglas Byrd), Nazair Jones (Roanoke Rapids), Artemis Robinson (Scotland County), Tyrone Crowder (Richmond County), Tyquan Lewis (Tarboro), Lewis Neal (Hunt), Devante Covington (Richmond County), Greg Gilmore (South View).

The North Carolina Shrine Bowl team will be coached by Garner head coach Nelson Smith. Smith helped Garner to the N.C. High School Athletic Association 4-AA state final last season. The Trojans are undefeated so far this season.

Other North Carolina coaches that will serve under Smith include East Lincoln's Mike Byus, Williams' Dave Grant, Davie County's Doug Illing, Hendersonville's B.J. Laughter, West Forsyth's Adrian Snow, and Douglas Byrd's Russell Stone.

Each year, the Shrine Bowl of the Carolina puts some of the top graduating seniors from North Carolina up against their counterparts from South Carolina. Only seniors are eligible to participate in the Shrine Bowl.

The 2012 Shrine Bowl of the Carolinas will be played at Gibbs Stadium on the campus of Wofford College on Dec. 15. Kickoff is slated for 1 p.m.


Please with your WRAL.com account to comment on this story. You also will need a Facebook account to comment.

Oldest First
View all
  • hsmediamember Oct 10, 2012

    Berrios is just a Junior. I am sure he will be one next year. Congrats to the Shrine Bowl Participants of this year.

  • gt_football Oct 10, 2012

    Congrats to Tim Thorb of Garner. Well deserved!


  • VT1994Hokie Oct 10, 2012

    Scotland and Richmond County Sr. High had two each of this team. I have watched several games between these two.

  • StunGunn Oct 10, 2012

    I'm disappointed that no one from Leesville (Berrios) or WF-R were nominated for the Shrine Bowl. Both schools have some very good players.